Watching Wrap-Up | February 2017

I’ve been watching much more TV than reading books as of late (in fact I always have – I watch approximately 4-5 movies a week) so I thought I’d share with you everything I watched (and rewatched) in February.

 

1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower

the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower-movie-poster-2012-1020751899

This was a rewatch for me and I loved it even more the second time around. The chemistry between all the characters, incredible music. I laughed and cried and laughed and cried some more. One more thing: Ezra Miller is too precious for this wretched world and should be protected at all costs.

2. The Hot Wet American Summer: First Day of Camp

mv5bmtc5mdm1njg2nl5bml5banbnxkftztgwode1mjuxnje-_v1_uy1200_cr9006301200_al_

I expected a light-hearted comedy. It stars Paul Rudd, Amy Poehler and Bradley Cooper so I was sure I was in for a treat. Only…I wasn’t. Even cast like this didn’t save it. It was trying too hard with very dry and almost no-brainer humor. I do enjoy comedy but it was too much.

3. Killing Jesus

killing-jesus-key-art-poster

This is a TV miniseries chronicling the life of Jesus of Nazareth based on The New York Times best seller by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard. Seeing that it stars legends such as John Rhys-Davies and Ridley Scott himself was involved in the production I was very much surprised to have found it on National Geographic one day. I really enjoyed this one for it showed Jesus’ life through the conflicts between the authority, church, politic and social expectations of the era. In the end it shows Jesus as a man who stood in a way of those in power and as such was cruelly punished and made an example of. It is a very well done movie and I’d highly recommend it.

4. The Crown

thecrown_keyart_us
I’m pretty sure I don’t have to introuce this one to you. It’s been wildly popular and critically acclaimed. All the hype surrounding The Crown is completely justified. This is how I like my costume historical dramas. Historically accurate, beautifully shot, with outstanding acting and breathtaking music. I found this one very educational as well. I cannot wait for the future seasons.

5. Broadchurch (season 1 & 2)

images

My mom recommended this one to me I am officialy hooked (meaning I binged 16 episodes in 4 days). Ever since watching (and absolutely adoring) The Night Manager a few months back, I am a huge fan of Olivia Colman. I did not however know what a ray of very grim, sarcastic sunshine Alec Hardy played by David Tennant was (suffice to say I became a fan).

It’s that typical small British town murder mystery and now I’m certain that this is exactly what I love watching. Any recommendations of something similar?

6. Riverdale (eps 1-5)

mv5bntkzota4ode3nl5bml5banbnxkftztgwodizmtqzmti-_v1_uy268_cr180182268_al_

Teen drama meets murder mistery in this one. Sign me up! It’s much less predictable than I anticipated. This isn’t something I’d normally watch but…I’m loving it! it’s strangely addictive and I must say that I love Jughead with a fiery passion.

Have you seen any of these? What did you think?

Have you watched something worth recommending lately? Please share in the comments!

Leave a Reply

