Everything, everything – Nicola Yoon | Review


“Madeline Whittier is allergic to the outside world. So allergic, in fact, that she has never left the house in all of her seventeen years. She is content enough—until a boy with eyes the color of the Atlantic Ocean moves in next door. Their complicated romance begins over IM and grows through a wunderkammer of vignettes, illustrations, charts, and more.

Everything, Everything is about the thrill and heartbreak that happens when we break out of our shell to do crazy, sometimes death-defying things for love.”

I apologise in advance for very incoherent thoughts. I found it very hard to put my feelings for Everything, everything into words. 

It took me exactly 204 minutes to read it. It took me 15 minutes to write this review. It was unputdownable (is that a word?).

I’ve never read any book this fast. It was absolutely stunning. The writing style is astonishing and story itself is exquisite. Going into this I was expecting just another YA contemporary romance. I’ve never been so wrong in my entire life. 

If I’m being honest, I can’t even pin point why I loved it so much. It’s too much emotions all at once. It’s one of those books you have to reread to fully absorb its content. 

Everything, everything is perfect example why you should never underestimate YA novel as ‘fluffy & cute’. This one is ridiculously well written. Each sentence like a thoughtful poem. Full of meaning and emotions. 

Maddie’s story is compelling. Reading it expect the unexpected. It is everything but ordinary. 

Don’t be fooled by assuming that it is just a YA romance. It is YA romance. And so much more than that. It is a tale of life. Of living. Love driven choices. Once we make ourselves and once that are made for us. 

Please read it. You won’t regret it. 

Leave a Reply

