The Queen of Blood – Sarah Beth Durst | Review

25036395

“Everything has a spirit: the willow tree with leaves that kiss the pond, the stream that feeds the river, the wind that exhales fresh snow . . .

But the spirits that reside within this land want to rid it of all humans. One woman stands between these malevolent spirits and the end of humankind: the queen. She alone has the magical power to prevent the spirits from destroying every man, woman, and child. But queens are still just human, and no matter how strong or good, the threat of danger always looms.

With the position so precarious, young women are chosen to train as heirs. Daleina, a seemingly quiet academy student, is under no illusions as to her claim to the throne, but simply wants to right the wrongs that have befallen the land. Ven, a disgraced champion, has spent his exile secretly fighting against the growing number of spirit attacks. Joining forces, these daring partners embark on a treacherous quest to find the source of the spirits’ restlessness—a journey that will test their courage and trust, and force them to stand against both enemies and friends to save their land . . .  before it’s bathed in blood.”

 

*As I am ridiculously busy at the moment (and I don’t expect it to change any time soon) and I still want to keep blogging (blogging is an exaggeration really) I decided to write my reviews a little bit differently and see how that will pan out. That way I’ll be able to (hopefuly) post more frequently as my reviews will be shorter and therefore much easier for me to write. I hope you’ll enjoy! 

  •  The Queen of Blood is a beginning of a new epic fantasy series The Queens of Renthia. 
  • I decided to pick up The Queen of Blood on a whim not knowing absolutely anything about the plot. In fact, I hadn’t heard about the author either (reflecting on that now I can’t even comprehend how that happend).
  • First thing that surprised me was the lenght of the novel. Epic fantasy books that are less than 500+ pages are unheard of (if you happen to know any, please let me know!). And yet, there it is. An epic fantasy at exactly 368 pages. A miracle. And a perfect example that it doesn’t have to be the size of a brick to be a wholesome story.
  • Which brings me to my next point: to put it shortly: IT IS SO GOOD! But I owe you at least a couple of reasons to justify my opinion (I can be very convincing if I want to but I fear this simple sentence might be insufficient).
  • The strongest aspect of the story is definitely world-building. She created her setting with such skill and care. I could easily visualize everything very clearly in my head. It was almost painted on the pages and you could almost hear leaves rustling in the wind.
  • Inginious magic system. Reimagination of the elements in a whole new way.
  • Not your typical female heroine (do I need to say more?)
  • Now something I surely didn’t expect. It reads like a classic fantasy (whatever that may mean). I know this may meet with incredulity but this book gave me the same feeling of comfort and peace I get everytime I reread The Two Towers by J. R. R. Tolkien (one of my favourite books of all time). I’ve never said that about any fantasy book before. That’s why The Queen of Blood will forever stay very close to my heart and I can see myself rereading it many times in the future.
  • You might assume that that ‘classic fantasy’ factor is a result of being inspired by Tolkien a little bit too much. Although I’d seen it done far too many times before (with almost copy and paste situations), The Queen of Blood is surely not the case. It has its own quality, its own wholesome story. Ambiguous characters. Vividly depicted reality. I can easily see it becoming a classic of its own.
  • Reading an epic fantasy in a language other than your own might be a little bit tricky (and daunting if I’m being honest). However I found it very easy to get into. I didn’t have any problems following the story. See what I did there? Now you have no excuse for not picking up The Queen of Blood. I highly recommend you do so. I can only hope that our publishing industry will have an eye out for this one.
  • I simply cannot wait to continue on with this series. I need more. 

 

To wrap it up: I don’t think I did this book justice. I did my best. If you look for a fantasy book, that will make you feel good, story that you’ll find yourself completely immersed in, look no further. The Queen of Blood by Sarah Beth Durst got you covered. Please give it a chance.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

